BZ Reading
BZ Listening
39. Save the Footlight - Laura Regan, Owner
0:00
-1:04:38

39. Save the Footlight - Laura Regan, Owner

Click Here to Donate!

 Welcome to a special episode of BZ Listening. The podcast is officially on vacation, but I wanted to help spread the word about a fundraiser for The Footlight, a venue in Ridgewood Queens that is very near and dear to my heart, as are its owner Laura Regan, and her husband Tim. The Footlight opened just as I was departing New York for Cleveland, but I got to produce the very first show that graced its stage, the finale of my variety show, The BZ Douglas Carnivale. On today’s episode, Laura and I discuss the genesis of the Footlight, how it has become an artistic incubator and a space that fosters community, and finally the financial troubles she is facing due to a landlord that is not honoring his obligations, and the systemic problems that the city has with regulating building owners. 

Beloved Ridgewood Bar and Music Venue Struggles with Landlord's Negligence
[Bushwick Daily]

Follow the Footlight:

0 Comments