BZ Reading
BZ Listening
11. Steve Holecko - Political Director CCPC
0:00
-1:21:55

11. Steve Holecko - Political Director CCPC

Today my guest is Steve Holecko, Political Director of the Cuyahoga County Progressive Caucus or CCPC for short. This is by far the longest episode I have released, so I will keep the introduction short.

As the seemingly endless marathon that is the 2020 democratic primary gets underway and starts to take up all the political oxygen in our brains, I thought it was important to make sure to keep my ear to the ground more with local issues.

For the first half hour, Steve and I discuss his background in political organizing and the campaigns that first activated him, and talk a bit about our experiences with Bernie Sanders' 2016 campaign. From there we move on to discussing CLASH, the Cleveland Lead Advocates for Safe Housing, and the work they are doing to force the city to deal with a lead paint problem in older houses and rental units that is causing lead levels to skyrocket in children. Then we spend the last half hour discussing the Green New Deal Town Hall that the CCPC is helping to organize.

The town hall is actually the reason I am releasing this episode today. If you are in Cleveland, and would like to attend, it will be held at the Brooklyn Branch of the Cuyahoga County Library at 7pm on Thursday, March 21st. I would be there, but my wife and I have our first show booked in quite some time. I will be bringing Steve back again regularly, and we’ll hear how this town hall went in a few weeks.

As always thanks for listening! Do all the like and subscribe things, and consider telling someone about the show with your mouth! It's great.

Footnotes:

Green New Deal Town Hall:
https://actionnetwork.org/events/what-do-you-want-from-the-green-new-deal-a-town-hall-meeting-for-cuyahoga-county-2

CLASH:
https://www.facebook.com/CleLeadSafe/

CCPC:
https://www.cuycpc.org/


0 Comments